The boards of directors of VILLUM FONDEN and VELUX FONDEN have in recent years taken steps to strengthen the approval process.

This was done by establishing working groups and committees for each of the various grant areas and programme types.

Working groups

VILLUM FONDEN and VELUX FONDEN have set up a number of working groups mainly for the purpose of contributing to the allocation activities of the foundations taking place on a professional, sound and in other respects exemplary basis. The object of the working groups is to assist the board of trustees with strategic development as well as with the handling and recommendations to decide on applications and projects within selected areas, presently the individual allocation areas as well as the asset management.

Research in the technical and natural sciences

Professor Anja Boisen, Department of Micro- and Nanotechnology, Technical University of Denmark, board member, VILLUM FONDEN

Professor Peter Landrock, Chairman Cryptommathic A/S, board member, VILLUM FONDEN

Professor Jane Clarke, Department of Chemistry, University of Cambridge

Professor Poul Henrik Damgaard, Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen

Professor Guy Marin, Department of Materials, Textiles and Chemical Engineering, Ghent University

Professor Björn Ottersten, University of Luxembourg & KTH Royal Institute of Technology

Social programmes, Denmark

Birgitte Mazanti, Head of Centre, Centre for Social Housing Development, external member

Bjarne Graabæk Thomsen, Former CEO, board member, VILLUM FONDEN

Hans Peter Jensen, DPhil, Efor Egmont Kollegiet, external member

Kamilla Kann Rasmussen, Educationist, board member, VELUX FONDEN

Ole Pass, former Social Director, external member

Social programmes, other countries

Bjarne Graabæk Thomsen, Former CEO, board member, VILLUM FONDEN

MSc., PhD Eva Zeuthen Bentsen, partner in Odgers Berndtson, board member, VILLUM FONDEN


Bjarne Graabæk Thomsen, Former CEO, board member, VILLUM FONDEN

MSc. Jens Kann-Rasmussen, Manager, VELUX A/S, chairman, VILLUM FONDEN

Lars Kann-Rasmussen, external member


Nurse Astrid Kann-Rasmussen, observer, VILLUM FONDEN

MSc. Political Science, Ph.d. Mikael Skou Andersen, Professor, Department of Environmental Science and department of Agroecology, Aarhus University, external member

MSc., Ph.d. Minik Rosing, Professor, Natural History Museum of Denmark, University of Copenhagen, vice-chairman, VELUX FONDEN

MSc. Steen Riisgaard, vice-chairman, VILLUM FONDEN

Farmer Søren Hermansen, Director, Energy Academy, external member

Research in the humanities and culture

DSc. Jens Oddershede, Professor, Department of Physics, Chemistry and Pharmacy, University of Southern Denmark, board member VELUX FONDEN

MA. Marianne Zibrandtsen, 6th form college principal, Aurehøj Gymnasium, external member

MA. Phd, Marie Louise Bech Nosch, Professor, Saxo-Insititute, University of Copenhagen, board member VELUX FONDEN



Committees assist with the approval process and provide consultancy.

Applicants to VILLUM FONDEN’s Young Investigators Programme are reviewed by a newly established committee tasked with identifying the best-qualified applicants.

Recipients of the Annual Award are selected by the board of directors of VILLUM FONDEN from among a pool of nominees chosen by an expert panel.

The boards of directors of both foundations can consult with the Investment Committee, which has been specially established to advise on investment practices.


Professor Frede Blaabjerg, Department of Energy Technology, Aalborg University, Denmark (Chair)

Professor Bart de Moor, Department of Electrical Engineering, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium

Professor Dorte Juul Jensen, Department of Wind Energy, Technical University of Denmark

Professor Henrik Bruus, Department of Physics, Technical University of Denmark

Professor Charlotte Fløe Kristjansen, Niels Bohr Institute, University of Copenhagen

Professor Owen Lewis, Department of Zoology, University of Oxford, UK

Villum Outreach and Education Programme 2017

Professor emeritus Nils O. Andersen, The Niels Bohr Institute, Copenhagen University, Denmark.

Professor Doris Jorde, Department of Teacher Education and School Research, University of Oslo, Norway.

Aff Hjarnø, teacher and science coordinator, St. Heddinge School, St. Heddinge, Denmark

Additional members may be added following the deadline of the call. Updates can be found here.


MSc. Economics Dorrit Vanglo, CEO, LD, external member

MSc. Economics Jan Østergaard, CIO, Industriens Pension, external member

MSc. Jens Kann-Rasmussen, Manager, VELUX A/S, chairman, VILLUM FONDEN

D.Sc. Jens Oddershede, Professor, Department of Physics, Chemistry and Pharmacy, University of Southern Denmark, board member, VELUX FONDEN


MSc., D.Sc., Ph.d. Barbara Ann Halkier, Professor, Department of Plant and Environmental Sciences, University of Copenhagen

MSc. Ph.d. Lars Arge, Professor, Department of Computer Science, Aarhus University Marcel Somers, Professor and Section Head, Department of Mechnical Engineering, Technical University of Denmark


Working group members receive DKK 75,000 annually.

External experts are compensated either on an hourly basis or for each application they assist with.

Committee members receive annual compensation commensurate with their responsibilities.